Ambitious Bitch

“A youthful mind is seldom totally free from ambition; to curb that, is the first step to contentment, since to diminish expectation is to increase enjoyment.”

-Frances Burney

Really Frances? Really.

Sorry dude, but I disagree. Completely.

I’ve always been ambitious. From a young age, I have been a competitive child, eager and determined. Losing leaves a bitter taste in my mouth and bettering myself is something I strive for. Second place is first loser and no matter what, there is always room for improvement. I set high goals for myself and failure only serves to propel me into a state of diligence. I am tireless and I am tenacious. I strive to be the best. I’m not just reaching for the moon, I’m reaching beyond the borders of our galaxy. That way, if I fall, I will be where no man has ever gone before. Ambition is a driving force. Without it, there is no path to success; there is no will to flourish. If we do not aspire to become anything, where will we go? Ambition has such a negative connotation, but without it we have nothing. Innovators, scientists, and leaders are all driven by ambition. Everyone has ambition; some just have more than others. I do not aspire to be rich or powerful or famous. I aspire to give hope to each and every person, I aspire to be a sister my brothers will look up to, I aspire to be someone who leaves an impression. The only people who can change our world are the people who aspire to.

And curbing desire and expectation? This does not lead to contentment! Contentment comes from the journey itself. It is the path you take towards your goals. Failure and success both lead to ultimate contentment. They create people who are stronger in their beliefs, in their dreams, and in themselves. Don’t degrade yourself. Don’t degrade your dreams. Dare to be that person who is ambitious and determined beyond all belief.

Some may consider ambition a vice, but for me it is merely a tool. A device that pushes me to be better, to be stronger, to be more confident. Ambition is enthusiasm, it’s desire, it’s hunger. It’s the will to fight for what you want, and for what you believe in. Ambition means having resolve and initiative. So I don’t care if it’s a bad thing. My ambition will not wane.

Much love.

-P 

Leave a Reply

