The Call

(By Regina Spektor)

It started out as a feeling

Which then grew into a hope

Which then turned into a quiet thought

Which then turned into a quiet word

 

And then that word grew louder and louder

‘Til it was a battle cry

 

I’ll come back

When you call me

No need to say goodbye

 

Just because every thing’s changing

Doesn’t mean it’s never been this way before

All you can do is try to know

Who your friends are as you head off to the war

 

Pick a star on the dark horizon

And follow the light

 

You’ll come back

When it’s over

No need to say goodbye

 

You’ll come back

When it’s over

No need to say goodbye

 

Now, we’re back to the beginning

It’s just a feeling and no one knows yet

But just because they can’t feel it too

Doesn’t mean that you have to forget

 

Let your memories grow stronger and stronger

‘Til they’re before your eyes

 

You’ll come back

When they call you

No need to say goodbye

 

You’ll come back

When they call you

No need to say goodbye

 

 I have had this song for a long time. It was with me through some of the darkest times of my life. I mean darkest in the most literal sense: my sophomore year of high school was spent in the UK. I didn’t see the sun for four entire months. It was quite a transition from my sunny, secure home in Texas. I was away from my friends and family for the first time in my life; I had extreme hormonal difficulties; I had a severe Vitamin D deficiency; I had a posse of German bullies that tormented my acned and frumpy little self. Of course, no one learns anything except through challenges, and I made some of the best friends I’ve ever made and became a lot closer to the friends I left behind. I had experiences that changed me forever for the better. That’s what this song is about: a challenge, but a glorious and noble one, one you fight with your allies beside you. A challenge that breaks you and then forges a new and better you out of the pieces.

-E

This song makes me feel vulnerable and invincible at the same time. It makes me feel like laughing and crying and screaming and whispering. I think my favorite lines in this song are the ones at the beginning. The idea that something as frail as a thought or a hope can grow into something as powerful as a battle-cry is encouraging. It means that every thought we have, every idea, every wish, every dream is substantial and influential. Everything we do has the power to significantly affect our world and the way that we think. And there are some really important points in this song: Don’t forget your friends when you go off to fight, keep your memories in the forefront of your mind, don’t be afraid of change, and follow the light. And as someone who absolutely hates goodbyes, remember this: goodbyes are only as final as you make them. Whenever I listen to this song I feel a sort of twinge of sadness and when I feel that I realize how happy I truly am. It’s like how you need the darkness to appreciate the light. It’s how if you want to experience true happiness you must first experience true sadness. Love and hate, white and black, pain and comfort, war and peace, weakness and strength. The opposites serve to strengthen us. Remember that the next time you are hurting—the next time you feel weak or sad or unhappy. The pain will pass and you will regain your strength, your happiness, and your purpose. I love this song so much, it makes me embrace my duality and the completely different ends of the spectrum I can feel.

REMEMBER, a thought, an idea, a hope, a dream, a wish, a vision: these are the things that last. These are the things that grow into battle cries.

Loads of Love,

-P

Leave a Reply

