Time Machine

Oh, if I had a time machine. Just THINK of the possibilities. 

Two words. Gladiators. Velociraptors.

Haha, just kidding.

I think I would visit the past first.

I would go chill with the Romans, I would sneak onto the first rocket to the moon, and I would go to the first Olympic games. I could ride on the first train, I could meet the dinosaurs, and I could fly with Wilbur and Orville Wright on their first plane ride.

Think of how much I could mess with people….I could steal Schrodinger’s cat, I could write all kinds of things on the Rosetta stone, I could plant an iPhone in King Tut’s sarcophagus. I could go to the Salem witch trials and blast my speakers….I would totally be considered a witch. I could appear in a ton of different famous photos or go back to the Paleolithic era and draw cartoons all over the walls. 

I could go to prom in the eighties, I could camp out at Roswell and wait to see a UFO, and I could meet Queen Elizabeth and ask her truly why she never got married.

Think of all the people I could meet at different times in their lives—Albert Einstein, Mahatma Gandhi, Marilyn Monroe, Isaac Newton, Helen of Troy, Eleanor Roosevelt, Socrates, Plato, Sylvia Plath, Beethoven, Michelangelo, and Homer. And a bajillion trillion more that I’ll refrain from naming. Imagine all the authors and the scientists and leaders and humanitarians I could meet. 

As for all of the tragedies? 9/11, the Holocaust, the JFK shooting, the sinking of the Titanic, the Hindenburg crash, and the millions of other massacres and disasters? Would I change them? I don’t know. The possibilities are endless and it sure is tempting. Think of all of the lives I could save, all of the sadness I could prevent, and all of the families I could keep whole. But all actions have repercussions and the past is what shapes us. Without these experiences we wouldn’t be the people we are today…and whether that is a good or a bad thing I am not sure.

I could meet anyone, I could experience different cultures at their peaks and their downfalls and I could travel through everything that shapes humans and who we are today. The potential is infinite.

And that’s only the past.

The future is a whole ‘nother story.

Till next time!

-P

One thought on “Time Machine

Leave a Reply

