Be Magnificent

Anyone who knows me knows I’m a total quote junkie. I have pages and pages of quotes saved onto my computer and thousands of pictures of quotes on my desktop. In addition there’s billions more written down and scattered about my room and throughout my journals. I’m a sucker for other people’s nuggets of wisdom. What can I say? So here are some of my current favorite quotes and my two-cents about them. Enjoy.

“When you are in a relationship, you are aware that it might end. You might grow apart, find someone else, simply fall out of love. But a friendship isnt’a zero-sum game, and such, you assume that it will last forever, especially an old friendship. You take its permanence for granter, which might be the very thing so dear about it.” -Emily Griffin (Something Borrowed)

It’s true isn’t it? How we take for granted the very people who add meaning to our existence? Think about it. When’s the last time you told your best friend that he/she was fucking awesome and you wouldn’t be able to live without him/her? I take E for granted sometimes, like I don’t text her back because I know she won’t get angry or I hang out with her so much that sometimes I forget she was actually with me. Our friendship seems so permanent that sometimes I take it all for granted. Just take a moment to realize how much someone means to you. (I love you E, and I wouldn’t be able to live without you….sorry I forgot you went to Savers with me….)

“People are afraid of themselves, of their own reality; their feelings most of all. People talk about how great love is. Love hurts. Feelings are disturbing. People are taught that pain is evil and dangerous. How can they deal with love if they’re afraid to feel? Pain is meant to wake us up. People try to hide their pain. But they’re wrong. Pain is something to carry, like a radio. You feel your strength in the experience of pain.” -not sure who said this

Don’t be afraid of pain guys….just feel it….and then let it go.

“Eventually I discovered for myself the utterly simple prescription for creativity: Be intensely yourself. Don’t try to be outstanding; don’t try to be a success; don’t try to do pictures for others to look at—just please yourself.” -Ralph Steiner

I really like this one a lot. I know a lot of times I get caught up in trying to do this or that or trying to be outstanding or trying to please other people. But it’s true. Creativity comes from within and only by finding that will we be able to be truly creative. I’m still trying to figure out who I am and what I want and I guess that’s just part of the whole process.

“Bravery: It is curious that physical courage should be so common in the world and moral courage so rare.” -anonymous

“To be hopeful in bad times is not just foolishly romantic. It is based on the fact that human history is a history not only of cruelty, but also of compassion, sacrifice, courage, kindness. What we choose to emphasize in this complex history will determine our lives. If we see only the worst, it destroys our capacity to do something. If we remember those times and places—and there are so many—where people have behaved magnificently, this gives us the energy to act, and at least the possibility of sending this spinning top of a world in a different direction. And if we do act, in however small a way, we don’t have to wait for some grand Utopian future. The future is an infinite succession of presents and to live now as we think human beings should live, in defiance of all that is bad around us, is itself a marvelous victory.” -Howard Zinn

Be magnificent. Be courageous. Be compassionate. YOU have the power to change the world. We all do. Really and truly.

This will probably become a regular thing since I love quotes so much. 

Hugs and Kisses

-P

Leave a Reply

