New Year Resolutions

“When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive – to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.”

-Marcus Aurelius

It’s a nearly a new year, the dawn of twelve months of fabulous possibilities! And it’s time to make your resolutions up for the new year. Tired of the boring old “Lose ten pounds”? Try variations of some of these to spice up your year:

  • This year, I will fill my brain with meaningful and thought-provoking content. This means reading and watching: [insert good books and movies here] and not reading and watching: [insert trashy movies and television]
  • This year, I will improve my environment to make sure I am living the most productive and relaxed life possible. This means [cleaning my room more often] [organizing my closet] [etc]
  • This year, I am going to take the trip of my dreams. I will start organizing it now!
  • This year, I will make my body a representation of my gorgeous inner self. This means I will [eat things that make me feel like superwoman] [actually exercise]
  • This year, I will become an artist in my own right. I will get published or have my art featured in a gallery
  • This year, I will focus on cultivating the relationships that mean the most to me and let the ones that make me feel worse about myself wither. Here is how I will make the people closest to me feel loved:
  • This year, I will improve my community with the skill set I have. Here is how I will do that:
  • This year, I will work on only saying nice things about people when they are not present
  • This year, I will practice saying no to meaningless activities that sap my energy

Create tangible goals that make you feel energized and a little bit scared. Goals that make a voice inside your head say, “How could you achieve that in three lifetimes, let alone by the end of the year?” Constantly imagine yourself living out your dreams and work your butt off at them. If you haven’t gotten to your unimaginably amazing goal by the end of the year, look at the progress you’ve made and continue next year.  

“Shoot for the moon, and it you miss you’ll land among the stars.”

– A poster in my third grade classroom that I internalized

Kisses and Sunshine, 

E

Leave a Reply

