The Scale Epiphany

“Get off the scale! You are beautiful. I have yet to see a scale that can tell you how enchanting your eyes are. I have yet to see a scale that can show you how wonderful your hair looks when the sun shines its glorious rays on it. Get off the scale because I have yet to see one that can admire you for your perseverance when life challenges you. I have yet to see a scale that can thank you for your compassion, sense of humor, and contagious smile. Don’t give the scale more power than it has earned. Take note of the number, then get off the scale and live your life. You are beautiful!”

-Steve Maraboli

So as I was standing on my scale the other day I had an epiphany (and then I found the wonderful quote above, which is like, FATE). Sometimes I FEEL fat. In no way shape or form am I “fat”. Although truthfully I don’t even know what fat is anymore. Truly. I mean, fat is such an ugly hideous word with negative connotations and an awful rep. What is fat? It’s relative and its changing and it’s UGLY, is what it is. But sometimes I FEEL really “fat”. I’m not at my fittest weight but I am working to become a healthier and fitter person. But ANYWAY.  I will discuss this later. But as I was standing on my scale I was kind of like, “WHAT THE HELL AM I DOING?” Yea. That’s exactly what popped into my head. The thing is, every single day, thousands and thousands of women around the globe step on the scale in search of validation of beauty and social acceptance. You know what scales measure? They measure the pull that gravity has on you. They measure my proclivity for chocolate and my inclination for a good bowl of ice cream. That’s it. Gravity is this massive thing that keeps us down on the earth. GUYS! WE CAN DEFY GRAVITY!! WE HAVE FLOWN TO THE MOON!!! That is what I was thinking. And I just want to share that. That’s all scales can measure. My scale cannot measure how fast I can multiply numbers in my head. 13×17=221. Yea. I just did that in like 3 seconds flat. I am a human calculator. And my scale cannot measure that. My scale cannot measure how hard I can hit a volleyball. My scale cannot measure how far I can run. My scale cannot measure how hard I laugh when I’m happy. My scale cannot measure how people feel when I smile at them. My scale cannot measure how fast I soak up books. My scale cannot measure the funniness of my stupid jokes. My scale cannot measure my ability to make people feel loved. My scale cannot measure how deep the conversations I have with E are. My scale cannot measure my integrity. My scale cannot measure the music I can make with my fingers. My scale cannot measure my love for adventure or my unending curiosity of the world around me. My scale cannot measure the way I feel when I hug someone really hard or the way I look when I don my favorite pair of heels. Why do we let scales measure out or capacity for happiness? Scales cannot measure our inner beauty, our capacity for life, or our ability to succeed. They cannot measure our ambition, our ability to love, our creativity. They cannot measure our strength, our talent, our potential. They cannot measure our affection, our enthusiasm, or our willingness to live. They cannot measure our tenacity, our dedication, or our motivation. Nor can they measure the way we deal with hardships, the way we fight for our beliefs. They cannot measure our charm, our friendships, or the stuff that we are made of.

We’re beautiful guys. We all are. NOT because of how much we weigh. But because of who we are.

Kisses, Kisses, and More Kisses

-P

Leave a Reply

