Weird

Weird itself, even in the dictionary, is just something that is different and unexplainable. A weirdo is someone who follows his heart. I’m definitely weird, ain’t nothing wrong with that. -Kid Cudi

You know, the word weird is such a weird word, for lack of a better adjective. If you check up the word weird in the dictionary the literal definition is “suggesting something supernatural; uncanny; bizarre; fantastic.” As time has passed the word weird has evolved to describe someone who is out of the norm. Being weird is being different. Usually the word weird has a slightly negative connotation, after all; most people are trying to be ordinary and countless souls lose sight of their individuality in order to exude normalcy. But really. Think about it. Normalcy is such a relative thing. If I met a 17 year old girl from Japan I would probably think she was slightly weird. She would have a different culture, different customs, and a different lifestyle. And to her, I would be foreign and weird too! And some Aborigine warrior from Australia would probably think we were both freakishly weird. What is normal? When you ask yourself that question it becomes hard to define the parameters of weird.

What I think is that being weird is a good thing. Weirdness is the ability to be unique, and in our differences lies the power of imagination and originality. (Omg, that sounded super cheesy.) Really though, diversity and variety are the spices of life. It’s okay to be weird and it’s okay to be normal. I guess what I’m trying to say is it’s important to follow the drumbeat of your own heart and not get lost in the deafening drumroll of what our society today is. I definitely know I’m weird, in some ways more than others. I absolutely hate feet, I believe in magic, I think blue m&ms taste the best and I think that runny ice cream is disgusting. But that’s just me. Some people may think I’m absolutely weird and crazy and others might just think I’m a visionary. My best friend E thinks that vomiting sunshine is creativity and my best friend C thinks it’s hilarious when people fall directly on their faces. You may think it’s weird, but I think it’s awesome. Here’s the thing. I’m fine with being weird. Because it means that I am uncanny, I am bizarre, and I am fantastic. Mostly, it means I am not afraid to follow my heart.

Embrace your inner weirdness ❤

P

Leave a Reply

