Happiness Manifesto

Hey guys! I’ve really been thinking hard about what makes me happy, in the short term and in the long term. Here are the twelve commandments I came up with. 

1. Be Priyanka.

2. Make the most of your time.

3. Exercise and eat right.

4. Take care of your body and mind.

5. Do good, feel good.

6. Be golden.

7. Get organized.

8. Love myself.

9. Work hard.

10. Time management.

11. Go off the path.

12. Love is everything. 

In order to start my journey towards happiness I created/ stole these 12 big goals that I have. (Please read the Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin). Then within each big goal I created mini goals and specific ways to achieve my goals. For example, for #3-exercise and eat right, my mini goals are to: lose 10 pounds over the course of 6 months, be able to run a 5K in 25 minutes, and only eat healthy foods. I then created an even more specific routine that will help me achieve my goals. I will exercise at least 4 times a week: Tabata on Tuesday, Pilates on Wednesday, Zumba on Thursday, running and weight lifting on Saturday. I will try to stop eating sweets and I will only eat when I’m hungry…no more mindless snacking! I already exercise most days, but this is a way for me to really track my progress and stick with my goals. After MUCH deliberation I’ve managed to do this for all 12 commandments. Some things, like #1-Be Priyanka, are very hard to create a routine for or express and for that reason everyone’s happiness projects will be different. Anyway, I wish y’all luck on your journey to happiness.

Peace and Happiness,

P

Leave a Reply

