Awkward Limbo and Riding Life

My Dearest E,

I am so glad that you are having such a good time in Austin. Also, I just bought that book on my kindle. Know that I’ll try to have it read in a few days time. Gosh, you are so legit. You really do seem like a real college student.

Currently, I am stuck in this awkward limbo, one where I am no longer a high school student but not quite a college student. I have been filling out a lot of forms for MIT and getting more and more excited about studying there. I know it’s going to be hard, but it’s going to be SO AWESOME. Thinking about how smart my future self will be makes we want to skip around and sing songs to the universe. And you know me. I do love a good challenge.

Anyway. Yesterday I started to watch the Hills on Netflix.

Here are 3 things I learned.

1. I could never ever drop out of school(Not that this would ever happen, who are we kidding?) First of all, it makes you crazy. Like these girls. And second of all, I like learning too much. I want to learn every single freaking day for the rest of my life.

2. There’s this part where Heidi gets her dream job and then realizes that it’s totally not what she was expecting. I think we all have tendencies to envision what we want our futures to look like. And that’s definitely a good thing. But most of us don’t account for the bad things that WILL happen and all the bumps we WILL encounter. I think we should keep in mind that sometimes life doesn’t take us to what we dreamed of. Sometimes it’s not as magical. BUT, sometimes, it’s even better than we ever could have dreamed.

3. You need real friends to be a good person. People who are awesome usually have a ton of awesome people behind them. They have friends they can talk to at 4 am, they have parents who love them to death, and they have teachers who care about what happens to them. I hope I make wonderful, awesome, I-got-your-back friends at MIT and I know you’re totally making friends like that at UT.

So anyway, as much as I love reality TV after about two episodes I realized that my brain cells were literally dying faster than a combination of alcohol and paint-sniffing could kill them off. So I switched gears. And started watching commencement videos. I watched 4 of them: one by Steve Jobs, one by J.K. Rowling, one by Sal Khan, and one by David Foster Wallace. They were all really, really, really good. And really inspiring. I ended up writing like 10 pages in my journal and then running around the neighborhood so I could think. The David Foster Wallace one was kind of haunting because he talks about suicide and he actually committed suicide 3 years later. But they were all very good. They make me wanna go out grab life by the horns and ride it super hard all the way to the sunset.

Besides that, life has been pretty boring. I made a list of things I need to pack for college and I am perpetually trying to clean my room. I always spend time cleaning it but it’s ALWAYS messy. Damn entropy. Why is the universe so inclined towards chaos?

I miss you and I hope you’re doing crazy things.

Loads of Love,

P

Leave a Reply

