Underwear: Why?

Dear P, 

It struck me as I was going through my usual routine this morning: get up, brush teeth, put on clothes. Bra, shirt, underwear, shorts, socks, shoes. I examined my routine and began to wonder: Why do we wear underwear? I had always worn them because when I was a little kid, my mom picked my clothes, and she laid some out for me every morning. Before that, I wore diapers, because I was a baby and unable to control my own bowel movements. 

I am now fairly confident that I will not soil my clothes if I do not wear underwear. My shorts are, you will be glad to know, long enough to cover anything people might choose not to see. My shorts are also soft enough so they will not irritate anything.

So there is basically no point.

I am not going to state to the whole wide internet whether or not I wore underwear today (that would be scandalous), but I did do a but of research and concluded that underwear should be considered a choice based on what you are wearing and your personal preferences.

This principles applies to all aspects of your life. Question yourself constantly. If you find yourself doing something and unable to reason out why, then research it, either by not doing it or reading about it. Whether or not we wear underwear is a goofy example, but we have to examine every aspect of our lives in order to become better people and, as you said in your last post, go the extra mile. 

As the famous maxim by Gandhi states:

“Your beliefs become your thoughts, 
Your thoughts become your words, 
Your words become your actions, 
Your actions become your habits, 
Your habits become your values, 
Your values become your destiny.” 

Loads of love and candy and kisses,  

E

Leave a Reply

