The Best Movies Ever To Watch During a Hurricane

Dear North-easterners, including P,

You all are about to experience a long period of coop-uppedness owing to the arrival of THE FRANKENSTORM.

To help you deal with this coming catastrophe, I have compiled a list of movies to add a bit of brightness to the dreary hours you are about to endure.

P, you may want to just skip to the end, since you have completely different taste in movies from me. Loyal readers, P likes fun action and superhero movies, while I am more of a historical/literature/weird-British-movie person. Though we both like a good rom-com. Let’s be real, though, who doesn’t love a good rom-com?

  1. Pride and Prejudice (2005)
This is my favorite movie. I love Keira Knightley. The soundtrack is spectacular. I am obsessed with Chatsworth, the house that played Pemberley in the movie, and I am absolutely infatuated with Matthew Macfadyen, who is beautiful even when he plays a bald monk in “Pillars of the Earth.”
If you haven’t seen this movie, you are seriously missing out.
  1. Bridget Jone’s Diary

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I spent my sophomore year of high school at a boarding school in the UK. Sometimes I get nostalgic about the sharp, self-deprecating British sense of humor. “Bridget Jone’s Diary” instantly assuages that nostalgia.

BJD is loosely based on “Pride and Prejudice”, so I guess I have a pattern going here.

3. Dirty Dancing

I am so honored I introduced you to this movie, P.

4. The Princess Bride

5. Grease

I included this, even though everyone ever knows it’s an awesome movie, because it ties into your hurricane, since the hurricane’s name is Sandy, too!

6. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

A love story that explores what would happen if we could forgot when we wanted to.

7. The Boat that Rocked

A story about a ship that broadcasted rock music in the sixties and it’s fight with the BBC.

8. Little Miss Sunshine

An iconic story about a family that road-tripped across America. Loosely based on “The Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck. I don’t know if you’ve heard of that book, P?

(JK- readers, P and I were forced to read this book for academic decathlon before we started this blog. It was painfully arduous at the time, but I’m glad, in hindsight, that I was able to read it with a class).

9. My Week With Marilyn

I know you fell asleep during this movie, P, but I thought it was golden. Michelle Williams is a brilliant Marilyn.

10. The Iron Lady

If you’re looking for an inspiring biography about a forceful personality, this would be the movie to watch.

If these selections fail to fill up all of your hurricane time, a Harry Potter or Disney movie marathon is always in order.

In all seriousness, P and all the rest of you up there, stay safe!

E

Leave a Reply

