Making Mondays Sunny

P’s Quote

“If grass can grow through the cement, love can find you at every time in your life.” -Cher

Things I’m Grateful for This Week

E visiting me all week, eating delicious food, traipsing around Boston, brunch, partying until the wee hours of the night, my lovely friends here, S for making me laugh even when I completely and totally fail my economics test, K for just being K, M for our random but lovely talks, all you can eat sushi, daffodils in empty wine bottles, Macy’s Campus Tour coming to MIT, organic chocolate truffles, the app Split pic and morphing my face with all of my friends’ faces (eerie but hilarious), the museum of fine arts, hoarding apples, more Starbucks than is possible in one week, finding my good headphones, St. Patricks Day, bright red lips, and the fact that spring break is only 5 days away.

image

image

image

image

image

Much love from Boston

-P

E’s Quotes: 

“The unifying theme [of writers] is resilience and faith. The unifying theme is being a warrior and a m**********r. It is not fragility. It’s strength. It’s nerve. And “if your Nerve, deny you-,” as Emily Dickinson wrote, “go above your Nerve.”

“One hot afternoon during the era in which you’ve gotten yourself ridiculously tangled up with heroin, you will be riding the bus and thinking what a worthless piece of crap you are when a little girl will get on to the bus holding the strings of two purple balloons. She’ll offer one to you, but you won’t take it because you believe you no longer have a right to such tiny beautiful things. You’re wrong. You do.”

Both of these quotes are from the book Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Life and Love from Dear Sugar, which I read over the break. It was an exquisite gem of a book and I highly recommend it, especially in our age of chick flicks, reality TV shows and other emotion-cheapeners.

Things I’m Grateful for this week:

Whoever invented spring break

Getting to see my best friend in the entire world (that’s P, everybody)

Trying a smattering of all the best food in Boston

Beautiful, locally owned bookstores like Boston’s The Raven, Trident, and Austin’s Bookpeople.

How kind, cool, and welcoming all of P’s friends are

The very cool museums in Boston

My Kindle, so I can travel with a bunch of great books

That MIT isn’t nearly as ugly as everyone always says

Returning to my sunny home in Austin (in my great St. Patrick’s outfit)

Leave a Reply

