Let’s Take a Stand for the Night

Dear E,

As you know, my spring break is currently coming to an end, a a harsh truth I’m not quite ready to accept. But as it goes, over the break I did a lot of reading and looking through various books, etc, etc. It seems that people always make a case for the morning. I’m sure you’ve heard the quote “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” My parents used to tell me that when I was younger and they were trying to get me into bed earlier rather than later. But over the years I have somehow been transformed into a night owl. And while I realize that waking up early is great and healthy and whatever there is a certain je ne sais quoi to the nighttime I’d like to bring up. Since I love lists I suppose I’ll just put this in list form.

Things I Love About Night Time

city lights

partying

sleepovers

the fact that for some reason the best talks always happen late at night and usually in the dark

tiptoeing around and feeling quite stealthy

midnight snacks

peace and quiet–the loud music subsides, the trains and traffic cease, and the chatter dies down

intimacy

impromptu movies

bonding over hard psets

the fact that if you stay up late/early enough you feel like the only person in the world

stars and the moon

it’s more acceptable to wear heels

have you ever read that book goodnight moon? where the whole world goes to sleep? The night time is just really relaxing to me

being able to say the night is young

the fact that we’re night owls and morning people don’t really get an animal name….other than just morning people

being nocturnal is in adventure in itself

everything feels sparkly and magical

Anyway, I probably enjoy the night time because none of my classes start before noon, tehehe. So I suppose I’ll remain a night owl for my collegiate years while I’m still young and then perhaps I’ll shift to being a morning person.

Loads of love and sweet dreams,

P

Leave a Reply

