Making Mondays Sunny

P’s Quote:

“I have one last hope for you, which is something that I already had at 21. The friends with whom I sat on graduation day have been my friends for life. They are my children’s godparents, the people to whom I’ve been able to turn in times of trouble, friends who have been kind enough not to sue me when I’ve used their names for Death Eaters. At our graduation we were bound by enormous affection, by our shared experience of a time that could never come again, and, of course, by the knowledge that we held certain photographic evidence that would be exceptionally valuable if any of us ran for Prime Minister.”

― J.K. Rowling

Dear E, the week right after spring break is always a hard week, if only because we are trying to get back into the swing of things. I had a really nice week. The end to my week wasn’t so great but I guess that’s why we have next week to try all over again right? I’m sorry your week wasn’t too hot, but I know it will get better. That being said, I did do a lot of awesome things this week. I started shadowing this REALLY awesome doctor at Mass General Hospital and I absolutely LOVE IT. Doing that has reminded me how much I love working with people and how much I absolutely want to be a doctor. Sometimes its easy to forget what I’m doing here. And on top of that I’ve been putting my new camera to good use. I took loads of photos at a surprise birthday party we threw for A. Anyway, just wanted to give you a short update on my week. Love you!

Things I Love

when S makes me tea, friends who will come to frat houses in their PJ’s to come get you when you need them (K, my roomie4lyfe and this other really great guy named PH), basically everything about K and how I owe her so bad in basically all aspects of life, when you get into bed and just pass out, getting to scrub in on two surgeries this week, learning SO MUCH about laryngeal surgery and how our voices work, getting to see actual patients, walking around Charles Town, feeling like a master of the T, unwinding at yoga classes, my Essie nail polish named limo-scene that I am currently obsessed with (both my toenails and my fingernails are painted with this color haha), my new oversized Ray-Bans that I am IN LOVE WITH, how sunglasses make you feel like a movie star, the fact that there’s enough sun for me to actually wear sunglasses, walking around Nebury, shamelessly taking pictures with S and M, sushi mixers, chili chocolate, snuggling in bed with S and watching Revenge, my dads texts because they are hilarious and SO CUTE, empty notebooks waiting to be filled, surprise birthday parties for close friends, giving gifts that people really like, coupons, baseball caps itching to be worn, the fact that the weather is actually warming up, not having any tests this week, and the coming 4 day weekend we have.

image

my new Ray-Bans

image

Me and A on Saturday night

image

This is right before A’s surprise birthday party (which was a huge success, she had no idea.) S and I were in charge of distracting her so we took her out to dinner on Newbury and then went to a coffee shop after and drank coffee and read magazines. I got a chocolatino, and it was delicious.

image

^Me taking photos for Macy’s

image

snapchat, because its a wonderful invention and I LOOOOOOVE ITTTTTT. I don’t even know what I did before this. S is photobombing me as uge.

image

image

more coffee and magazines

image

taken during our photoshoot escapades in B-town.

image

Me and S

image

Me and M

Things to Make This Week Sunnier:

Clean/organize my desk

Dress cute because its warm

Try to get ahead with my studies

Try to understand physics sigh

Stop drinking coffee late at night

Love you and miss you! ❤

Quote 

“Let me tell you about the nap. It’s absolutely fantastic. When I was a kid, my father was always trying to tell me how to be a man. And he said – I was maybe nine – he said, Philip, whenever you take a nap, take your clothes off and put a blanket over you and you’re going to sleep better. Well, as with everything, he was right. And so I now do that and I come back from the swimming pool I go to and I have my lunch and I read the paper and I take this glorious thing called a nap. And then the best part of it is that when you wake up, for the first 15 seconds you have no idea where you are. You’re just alive. That’s all you know and it’s bliss. It’s absolute bliss.”

— Philip Roth

I stole this quote (like an artist) from Austin Kleon’s blog, http://tumblr.austinkleon.com, today. I thought you would appreciate it, P. I absolutely love all your pictures! Give K a hug for taking care of you for me 🙂 Also, your floral pants are my favorite.

Things I’m Grateful for This Week

The super-spectacular-awesome I, who took me to ice cream and let me crash at her apartment after a Thursday night meltdown. I don’t know what I would have done without her this week. I’m grateful for great friends that go with you to Kirby Lane for queso on midnight on a Wednesday. I’m grateful for the chocolate cake and smiley faces my friend J brought to help me finish my lab report last night. I’m grateful for the C and S and our mutual acceptance of the fact that if a party is boring, we need to leave and find a different one. Preferably one with A in it:

image

In order: Yours truly, C, the only person I know who is a more accomplished napper than you, S, looking hot as always, and A, who snuck us into the party.

I’m grateful for the awesome research opportunities here at UT and that I learn so much every day. I am grateful that my mom and dad are hanging out with my adorable cousins so that I can skype them. I’m grateful for the laughs that I get from Muggle Hustle (http://mugglehustle.com) and New Girl. I’m still making my way through 11/22/63, and it’s well worth the length.

Mostly, I’m grateful that every week is a fresh start and a new chance to create things to be grateful for.

Hugs and kisses,

E

Leave a Reply

