Making Mondays Sunny

P’s Quote

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news my mom would always say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.’  To this day, especially in times of disaster, I remember my mothers words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers—so many caring people in this world.”

I know I already used this one this week but it’s so good I’m putting it on here twice. It was also really conducive to the week I’ve had.

Things I’m Grateful for This Week

Boston strong, the unity and community of this beautiful and strong city, police officers like Sean Collier, the BPD, the reactions to the bombings and shootings, how lucky I am to be alive and safe, that all of my friends are okay, and that fate somehow chose us to be the lucky ones.

I’m grateful for the millions of texts and phone calls and facebook messages I got from friends and family from all over.

I’m grateful that this week is over and that Boston and MIT are on their way back to how things used to be.

I’m thankful for the ability to move on from this, for impromptu dance parties in the thunderdome, for golf parties, for running across the Harvard bridge in shorts and sandals with the wind blowing in my face, for the amazing celebrations after the shooters were caught, the stunning view of the Boston skyline I have at all times, for the trees and flowers blossoming everywhere, the fact that p-setting is fun when you’re doing it with friends, jam sessions while studying, Sporcle, throwback Disney songs, throwback chick flicks that I watched with my friends this week like John Tucker Must Die and A Cinderella Story, my family, blogging, going to record stores with S, buying AWESOME records, the restaurant Veggie Galaxy where I had one of the best omelets I’ve ever eaten in my life, wearing hats, wearing bows, instant coffee, my tests for this week being done with, the feeling of finishing a pset, my absolutely hilarious friends, selfies at 4 am, talking to S until the wee hours of the night, delicious food at frat houses, dancing at the Estate, back massages late at night, B52 shots, polaroids, snuggling with your favorite people and froyo being delivered straight to your dorm.

Things to Make This Week Sunnier

Yea, this week is going to be sunnier no matter what I do, so I’m just going to enjoy the good weather, try to go running a lot, and explore the city as much as possible.

My thoughts will be with the affected individuals and families.

I love you so much E and I miss you and C loads and loads.

-P

Quotes:

“But stupidity is one of two things we see most clearly in retrospect. The other is missed chances.”

“I told him he was certainly welcome to his opinion; like assholes, everybody had one.”

“Artistic talent is far more common than the talent to nurture artistic talent.”

-11/22/63 by Stephen King

image

Things I Loved This Week:

That twitter exists so that I could see all the times you were still alive this week (I still frantically called you- sorry, P), getting to home to see my mom, little bro, and grandparents, that I’m going to have an awesome summer, a great opportunity in the form of a summer fellowship, the perfectly ripe avocado I am currently devouring, and going to see the Lumineers with my friend J. Their opening act was called Shakes and Ropes and they were good, too – you should look them up. I’m grateful that my mom wasn’t even mad when I woke her up because I was crying so hard at the movie “My Girl”- it’s so sad, P. Only watch it if you are prepared to ball your eyes out. I’m grateful for my brilliant UT advisor who has helped me navigate my confusing and constantly changing schedule this week. I’m grateful for my massage yesterday and that I finished 11/22/63. I was a little disappointed at the ending, but, you know, we can’t have everything in life. I am grateful for the blogger James Altucher, whose stunning honesty makes his work absolutely groundbreaking. I’e been steamrolling through his fresh and interesting eBooks. I don’t completely agree with all of his ideas, but I like the gist.  I’ve been trying for total honesty this week, and so far it’s been very cathartic and no one I’ve talked to has been offended. We don’t even realize how much we censure ourselves.

Things to Make Next Week Sunnier

Follow Altucher’s rules on “How to be the Luckiest Guy on the Planet in 4 Easy Steps”, found here. I’ve been struggling a lot with the sleeping schedule, but I like the idea of going to sleep early so you can wake up early.

I’ve made plans to volunteer with kids twice this week! I’m so excited- I love chilluns!

Go through my full skin care routine every single night.

Keep up the momentum we’ve gathered on the blog this week! Your post was so moving and beautiful, P!

Bake night with I tomorrow!

image

I hope you have a super-fantastic week, P! Happy Earth Day!

-E

Leave a Reply

