Fashion

image

“Fashion is one of the very few forms of expression in which women have more freedom than men. And I don’t think it’s an accident that it’s typically seen as shallow, trivial, and vain. It is the height of irony that women are valued for our looks, encouraged to make ourselves beautiful and ornamental…and then are derided as shallow and vain for doing so. And it’s a subtle but definite form of sexism to take one of the few forms of expression where women have more freedom, and treat it as a form of expression that’s inherently superficial and trivial. Like it or not, fashion and style are primarily a women’s art form. And I think tit gets treated as trivial because women get treated as trivial.”

Dear E,

For some reason when people asked me what I was doing over IAP I always felt a twinge of shame when saying that I worked for a fashion start up. The shame stemmed from the fashion part. It’s not like I thought anyone was judging me or anything, it just felt shallow, you know? I want to be a doctor and it doesn’t really line up with all my plans of saving babies in Africa and acing the MCATs and all the other things that pre-med students are expected to do.

As you know I love fashion. I absolutely love dressing up. Half of the fun of going out is getting all dolled up. I love buying cool unique pieces I don’t think other people would wear and then rocking them. I love creating outfits for myself and others and I love thinking up unusual but genius combinations of clothes. Fashion is an art, and I love being blown away. I love things that are wild and out there and I respect the women and men who wear them. On the same note I have a love for classic, timeless look and I truly do believe that fashion is a very important way of conversing.

When I slip on a pair of heels I am ten times more confident….and intimidating. When I put on my power suit, it actually does make me feel more powerful. When I wear cool backless shirts and bright yellow beaded halter tops and denim mini circle skirts I feel cooler and more interesting. And when I feel fucking awesome, I act the same way.

I hate that caring about clothes makes me “shallow” and I hate that people could even think about trivializing me for reading fashion magazines or working at a fashion start up or caring about what I wear.

I’m going to keep my art form thank you very much. I’m going to keep wearing lace crop tops and velvet bustiers and converse or whatever the heck else I’m in the mood for while I’m working towards my dreams. Put me in a box, I dare you.

So much love ❤

P

image

 

Leave a Reply

